. . .
Spektrix Ref 1: GE21


11 December | 7:45pm| £18 / £15 

Doors & bar 6:45pm | Pre-concert talk 7:00pm | Concert 7:45pm, ends 9:00pm, no interval


Kate Romano, clarinet | Nicola Goldscheider and Alexandra Caldon, violin | Bridget Carey, viola | Toby Turton, cello


Rebecca Clarke  - Comodo et amabile for string quartet (8')

Elizabeth Maconchy - Clarinet Quintet (15')

William Alwyn - String Trio (18')

Matthew Kaner -  At Night (15')   [WORLD PREMIERE] 

Rebecca Clarke - Combined Carols for string quartet (4')



The Goldfield Ensemble were the first resident artists at Stapleford Granary (2014) where they helped build an audience for this beautiful venue through a year-long programme of lesser-known British music. Since then, the ensemble have expanded into a fully-fledged production company, creating acclaimed cross-arts touring productions with artists including poet Simon Armitage, visual artist Solveig Settemsdal and composers Matthew Kaner and Kathy Hinde. They have performed at the Barbican, Kings Place, most UK festivals and they frequently broadcast on BBC Radio 3. In 2019, Goldfield released the first recording of the chamber music of 83-year old Erika Fox for NMC Records, applauded in every category by critics and broadcasters. 



‘... food for the mind, the ears, plus the heart‘ (★★★★ BBC Music Magazine)



Their programme for Stapleford Granary is a return to chamber music of the British Isles for strings and clarinet. Rebecca Clarke, a composer of truly splendid chamber music, wrote most of her works in the first half of the 20th century but it is only in the past two decades that her music has become more widely known. William Alwyn's Trio is a finely crafted work with passages of great beauty for the difficult-to-compose-for medium of three strings. Elizabeth Maconchy's clarinet quintet is a feisty, lyrical, earthy work with dance-derived rhythms and a seductively 'aquatic' slow movement. 


We are delighted that this concert includes the world premiere of Matthew Kaner's 'At Night', composed for Goldfield musicians who will record the work for Delphian in 2022.


Matthew Kaner writes:


The quintet is in three movements that each tell a different story on the theme of night:

1.  'The Land of Nod' after the poem of the same name by Robert Louis Stevenson. It also draws on my own experiences of becoming a new father and trying to get my baby son off to sleep. 

2.  'Searching for the Dimmest Stars' is inspired by a beautiful poem about dark matter by Rebecca Elson who was an astronomer and wrote poetry in her spare time

3. 'Nothing to be afraid of' comes from a rather unsettling night poem by Margaret Attwood. 


 The evening includes a pre-concert talk with Matthew Kaner and Kate Romano: please add to basket when purchasing tickets

 This concert is kindly supported by the William Alwyn Foundation



Covid-19 and concerts

In line with the most up-to-date guidance Public Health for Cambridgeshire & Peterborough, we:

  • clean all surfaces that people touch regularly and keep hand sanitizer around the site
  • ensure air flow remains good around the building (we have a highly efficient air extraction system in the concert hall)  
  • advise all ticket holders to take a lateral flow test before coming to an event at the Granary and insist that staff and visitors who are unwell do not attend the venue

Face coverings are currently not compulsory, but if the guidance changes we will communicate this to ticket holders