. . .
Spektrix Ref 1: LZ22


19 March | 7:45pm | £22 / £18 

Doors & bar 6:45pm | Concert 7:45pm, ends 9:00pm, no interval


Lauren Zhang, piano 


Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony no 9 in D minor, op 125, transcribed for solo piano by Franz Liszt (65 minutes)


'Lauren Zhang’s power never let up, yet what most impressed was the magical delicacy of her playing in the softer passages'

The Times, May 2018


'A superhuman display of keyboard virtuosity' 

The Arts Desk, May 2018


In 2018, Lauren won the BBC Young Musician Competition at the age of 16, performing with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra to widespread critical acclaim. Since then her solo appearances include her debut at the BBC proms and concertos with the London Mozart Players, European Union Chamber Orchestra, China National Symphony Orchestra and Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra in Warsaw. In 2020, Lauren made her debut with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra in Australia and with the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra. She performed as soloist with the Orchestra of the Swan and BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and returned to Germany at Klavier-Festival Ruhr. Her solo recitals have been broadcast live on BBC Radio 3 and 4.  Lauren is currently in her second year at Harvard University.  


Liszt and his Beethoven arrangements


Liszt had a lifelong admiration for Beethoven and prepared piano transcriptions of all nine of his symphonies over a 25 year period. He was also one of the most notable solo performers of Beethoven’s piano music. In 1856 at the summer music festival at Magdeburg in Germany, Liszt conducted, to great acclaim, a performance of Beethoven’s Ninth with an orchestra of a hundred players and a choir of three hundred and fifty. 


'I consider my time well employed', wrote Liszt in 1865, 'if I have succeeded in transferring to the piano not only the grand outlines of Beethoven’s compositions but also those numerous fine details, and smaller traits that so powerfully contribute to the completion of the ensemble'. This transcription for solo piano of Beethoven's 'Choral' symphony is universally acknowledged as masterly, demanding Lisztian reserves of athleticism, stamina and virtuosity from the performer.



Covid-19 and concerts

In line with the most up-to-date guidance Public Health for Cambridgeshire & Peterborough, we:

  • clean all surfaces that people touch regularly and keep hand sanitizer around the site
  • ensure air flow remains good around the building (we have a highly efficient air extraction system in the concert hall)  
  • advise all ticket holders to take a lateral flow test before coming to an event at the Granary and insist that staff and visitors who are unwell do not attend the venue

Face coverings are currently not compulsory, but if the guidance changes we will communicate this to ticket holders